Chanman's Blog


The SHC Family

Posted in Coaching,Report From the Road,SHC Track & Field by Andy Chan on August 22, 2008
Tags: ,

One of many group pictures between 1999-2002 when Shannon and Jessica were both on the SHC teams together

It’s the morning of Shannon’s Olympic Final.  I just received this email from Jessica Lau (SHC class of 2003), who also ran cross country and track and field for the Irish.

 “Tomorrow, as Shannon runs, she is not only representing the U.S., but she is representing all of us who have run under your leadership, all of our hopes and dreams. She represents every single person who has a vision, a dream, and has had the power and commitment to make that a reality, despite all challenges. She is a symbol that every person can make the impossible possible, that everyone, under great leadership and care, can fly. As she runs, we are all running with her, we are all cheering with you, because you have taught us how to be a true team. And I cheer on her greatness, her accomplishments, which are also yours and mine, and I thank you for all that you have done for so many people—for believing in me when I didn’t believe in myself and for teaching me how to be a leader, how to dream, how to create my own reality, how to stand in my power, and how to hold every single person I meet to their greatness.”

 I was all teary-eyed from Jessica’s touching email, and then my cell phone rang—it was Shannon calling. Talk about an amazing moment I’ll never forget.

Good luck, Shannon, and thanks, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

