Chanman's Blog


Dear Santa Claus

 

I wonder what the zip code is for the North Pole?

 

Dear Santa Claus,

I’ve been pretty good this year, heck I’ve been very good, so I was hoping that you would bring me some running toys for Christmas. You know, things that will make me a better runner. Some of these things are pretty large and won’t fit down my chimney but if you just ring the doorbell, I will be happy to let you in the front door. Perhaps one of your elves could stick around as I am sure some of these things will require some assembly.

Here are the things I would like:

1.    Underwater treadmill.

I was watching Carrie Tollefson (6:08 into video) and Alan Webb run on underwater treadmills and I can really see the benefit. Your legs get the workout (even extra work because of the water’s resistance) but they don’t have the impact with the ground that can cause an injury.

2.    Alter-G treadmill.

However, I don’t have a swimming pool in my house so the underwater treadmill isn’t going to work. Instead, can you get me one of those Alter-G treadmills? I mean Alberto Salazar bought one for Kara Goucher so why can’t Santa Claus get one for me? I love the idea that I can reduce muscle and joint pain by decreasing the percent of bodyweight I have to support during my run. But what excites me even more is that I can run faster than normal, with less effort, and sustain it longer. Sign me up!

The Alter-G treadmill at UCSF's Mission Bay

3.     Altitude tent.

I keep running slower than the Kenyans and Ethiopians who live at altitude. I know all about the “live high, train low” principal. In fact, I choose to live at sea level here in San Francisco to fulfill the “train low” principal. Perhaps you can help me with the “live high” part? If you are not familiar with altitude training, you should watch this video from Scott Simmons, who is the expert on the topic. Colorado Altitude Training makes the best altitude tents around and that’s what my friend, Shannon Rowbury, uses.

 

4.    Cryosauna.

Although I am injury-free right now, I can’t help but worry that because I am forty years old, my aged and weary body may start giving out. That’s why I think it’s imperative that I get a cryosauna, or “Space Cabin” as the boys from Nike like to call it. I want to be able to step inside this metallic cylinder and be rotated for two and a half minutes while liquid nitrogen-cooled air cools my skin to thirty degrees, penetrating just a half millimeter. Al Sal says it is going to help sore muscles recover faster. Besides ice baths are so 1990!

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year,

Andy

Leave a Reply

